Crossing The Line Festival

Exhibition

Omar Ba
Clin d’oeil

On View: Sep 9–Oct 28

FIAF Gallery

In conjunction with his solo show at the new location of TEMPLON Gallery in Chelsea, FIAF presents one of Omar Ba’s most important historical works, Clin d’œil à Cheikh Anta Diop-Un continent à la recherche de son histoire (2017). The artwork, presented on corrugated cardboard spanning the entire height of the FIAF Gallery, pays homage to Senegalese historian and politician Cheikh Anta Diop.

Dance

Kimberly Bartosik
The Encounter

World Premiere

Thu, Oct 6–Sat, Oct 8
7:30pm

FIAF Skyroom

The Encounter blossomed in 2021 from the celebratory energy of choreographer Kimberly Bartosik’s return to the studio post-quarantine. The work is an encounter with oneself, pulling from what we are currently carrying in our bodies—grief, hope, fear, desire, newfound power—and pairs it with our dreams in this moment of reconciliation with time.

Dance

Fouad Boussouf
Näss

NY Premiere

Tue, Oct 18 & Wed, Oct 19 at 7:30pm
Thu, Oct 20, Fri, Oct 21 & Sat, Oct 22 at 8pm
Sun, Oct 23 at 2pm

Moroccan choreographer Fouad Boussouf presents the NY premiere of Näss (People). Inspired by an array of dance traditions, the performance is comprised of a corps of seven dancers that respond to powerful beats of percussion and electronic music.

Theater

Bruno Latour
and Frédérique Aït-Touati
The Terrestrial Trilogy

A Performance in Three Parts:
Inside, Moving Earths and Viral

North American Premiere

Thu, Oct 27 at 7:30pm
Fri, Oct 28 at 7pm

FIAF Florence Gould Hall

Philosopher Bruno Latour and director Frédérique Aït-Touati make the stage a place for “scenic essays” and philosophical experimentation in The Terrestrial Trilogy, a reflection on the need for a profound renewal of our representations of the terrestrial world, living and non-living.