BAM in association with FIAF’s Crossing The Line Festival

Conception, choreography and scenography
by Gisèle Vienne

US Premiere

Thu, Oct 13–Sat, Oct 15
BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

In the US premiere of CROWD, the acclaimed French choreographer Gisèle Vienne transports audiences to a 1990’s Detroit rave, and a night spent losing oneself in the crowd.

The dance performance, like time, ebbs and flows, capturing a moment of explosive synchronicity or slowing down to illuminate the tiniest movements. As the night passes, fifteen individual stories emerge, exposing a darker relationship with having a good time.

1 hour 30 minutes

Gisèle Vienne

Gisèle Vienne is a Franco-Austrian artist, choreographer and director.

  • Read More
    • After studying philosophy and music, she studied at the puppeteering school Ecole Supérieure Nationale des Arts de la Marionnette. Over the past 20 years, her work has been touring in Europe and regularly performed in Asia and in America, among which, I Apologize (2004), Kindertotenlieder (2007), Jerk (2008), This is how you will disappear (2010), LAST SPRING: A Prequel (2011), The Ventriloquists Convention (2015) in collaboration with Puppentheater Halle and Crowd (2017). In 2020, she created with Étienne Bideau-Rey a fourth version of Showroomdummies at the Rohm Theater Kyoto, originally created in 2001. Gisèle Vienne has frequently been exhibiting her photographs in museums among which the New York Whitney Museum, the Centre Pompidou, the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de Buenos Aires. With Dennis Cooper, Peter Rehberg and Jonathan Capdevielle she published two books : Jerk / Through Their Tears and 40 Portraits 2003-2008, in collaboration with Dennis Cooper and Pierre Dourthe in February 2012. Her work has led to various publications and the original music of her shows to several albums.


With Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rehin Hollant, Oskar Landström, Theo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg and Tyra Wigg (alternately with Lucas Bassereau, Nuria Guiu Sagarra, Georges Labbat and Linn Ragnarsson)