Test d'Évaluation de Français pour l’accès à la nationalité française

What is the TEF ANF?

As of Jan 1, 2012, persons wishing to acquire French nationality must attest to their level of spoken French, as ordered by France’s decree of Oct 11, 2011.

TEF ANF (Test d’Évaluation de Français pour l’accès à la nationalité française) can be used to meet this requirement.

Candidates must present themselves for TEF ANF assessment of listening comprehension and oral expression at a testing center recognized by the Paris Chamber of Commerce and Industry, such as the French Institute Alliance Française (FIAF) in New York.

The TEF ANF is composed of two compulsory sections:
• Listening Comprehension 40 min – 60 items – 360 points
• Oral Expression 15 min – 2 topics to complete – 450 points

Please read this additional information:
Conditions d’inscription et de passation du Test d’évaluation de français (pdf)

Exam Dates

Friday, January 31, 2020
Registration Deadline: Friday, January 3, 2020

Friday, April 3, 2020
Registration Deadline: Friday, March 6, 2020

Friday, August 28, 2020
Registration Deadline: Friday, August 7, 2020

Friday, November 6, 2020
Registration Deadline: Friday, October 9, 2020

French Institute Alliance Francaise
22 East 60th Street, New York, NY 10022

How is the TEF ANF graded?

The test evaluates the French skills of the candidate using a scale of 7 levels that range from 0+ level (basic skills) to level 6 (complete control).

This scale corresponds to:
• 6 skill levels A1 to C2 of the Common European Framework for Languages (CECR) of the Council of Europe
• 12 Canadian Language Benchmarks (NCLC – Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens).

Correspondance Niveaux TEF/CECR/NCLC

TEF 0+ 1 2 3 4 5 6
CECR A1 A2 B1 B2 C1 C2
NCLC 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12


Compulsory Listening Comprehension: Total 360

Compulsory Oral Expression: Total 450
Understanding topics and finding appropriate information: 120
Facts explanation and argumentation: 150
Structure and vocabulary: 180

Getting the Certificate

Your grades will be sent to you via email within four weeks of the test date as it is mentioned “Attestation dématérialisée” on the registration form.

If you wish to receive a paper certificate in addition, please check the box to request one on the registration form and authorize an additional payment for $55 at the time of registration. We will email you again when we receive your certificate, and you will be able to either pick it up at the FIAF Language Center or request for it to be mailed to you. Please allow for 5-6 weeks from the test date for us to receive your certificate.


Listening Comprehension & Oral Expression
$265 FIAF Member
$280 Non-Member

Fees must be paid in full at time of registration and are non-refundable.


Please complete the registration and payment forms below and return them to FIAF.

Registration Form (pdf)

Payment Form (pdf)

As required by the exam authorities, you must submit the following either in person or via mail:
— an original signed registration form
— a copy of your passport or ID Card (on paper)

Any incomplete applications will be rejected.

You may pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express) in person or over the phone (646-388-6691), or by check or money order (mail to FIAF).

Mail: Mrs. Voahangy Siraisi, FIAF, 22 E 60th St, New York, NY 10022
Email: vsiraisi@fiaf.org

Exam participation can only be transferred to the next session in case of sickness. A doctor’s note (not via email) must be mailed within three days of the test.

FIAF reserves the right to cancel a session if the number of candidates does not exceed 10 candidates. All registrations will be moved to the next session. FIAF reserves the right to cancel a session for weather inclement reasons. All registrations will be moved to the next session.